countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
97
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$36.45+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on May 11, 2016
Thor (Chris Hemsworth) is about to become King of Asgard, but during his coronation the Frost Giants try to raid the royal vault. Although they fail, he takes it upon himself to lead an assualt against them and in so doing declares war upon them. For his arrogance and foolishness he is stripped of his powers and banished to Earth.

Chris Hemsworth is an excellent choice as Thor and Natalie Portman does a great job as Jane Foster. Tom Hiddleton does a great job as the treachorous Loki who takes advantage of Thor's situation to seize the throne.

The special effects are up to the standards you expect from a Marvel movie, but in the end it is the fantastic acting that saves an otherwise drab film.

Another must have for your Marvel collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2011
wow it looks like 2011 will be the year that restores my faith in pg-13 super hero movies/ i usually like my violence to be shown in full out rated r mayhem but aparently this year directors are figuring out how to make action movies for 'everyone'. first x-men first class and now thor. one thing i really liked about this movie is that the enemies are these crazy, entirly cgi creatures that somehow dont come off as looking stupid because of over cgi, something lots of directors need to take note of. Because the cgi is done right the action scenes look beutifully epic and i was just waiting for each battle to erupt. Any scene with natalie portman could have been scrapped but i guess i movie isnt a movie without a storyline so we can keep that in there to give some sort of reasoning to the real girth of this movie, the action! now im looking forward to captain america and green lantern.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
Natalie Portman starts out the film as an astrophysicist in the New Mexico desert. There appears to be some kind of UFO crash, as apparently aliens have the ability to fly all over the planet without crashing, except New Mexico. The movie then flashes back to 985 AD in a heavily CG background as Asgard, led by Odin, aka Anthony Hopkins, is fighting the frost giants, who look like blue skinned versions of Freddie Kruger. They end up with a truce. During the coronation ceremony of Thor, a frost giant enters the realm of Asgard and disrupts the ceremony (why this was done at the time was a mystery). Thor in his passion leads a group of warriors to the planet of the frost giants to teach them a lesson. The simple touch of a frost giant freezes the skin like liquid nitrogen. This was great in 2D, I can only imagine what the CG graphics was like in 3D.

Odin is upset with Thor and takes his hammer and powers. He banishes Thor who speeds to earth only to crash into Natalie Portman and company in the desert (beginning scene). A bad hammer pun and a taser later, Thor is on his way to medical. The hammer lands elsewhere in the desert and is lodged like the Sword in the Stone. A group of yokels gather to have a cook out and attempt to remove said hammer...until the FEDS show up.

The film moves back and forth between events on earth and in Asgard, as Loki has assumed the throne of his ailing father. In order to convince the audience this is the real Thor, he speaks a Middle Earth style of English, making over frequent use of the word "realm." It works well as it allows him to flirt with Natalie Portman, who he thinks is the most clever person on the planet. (Isn't this one of the seven signs?) Perhaps the movie's biggest fault is that is attempts to link mythology, science fiction and science fact is such a way a 9 year old might buy it.

Like good trekkies, Thor's friends come to earth to rescue him, because the needs of the one out weigh the needs of the many. They show up and are as conspicuous as Vikings in a credit card commercial. Memorable line: Stop! You are using unregistered weapons technology!"

For me the story wasn't light enough. There were a few comic lines attempted to break up the seriousness of the film, but it needed more of them. I was hoping for something along the lines of Iron Man 1. Perhaps the worst I have seen Ms. Portman in a while was her parsed OMG line. Other than that one bad line, she was great.

No sex, no nudity, no f-bombs. Safe for the kiddies. They should love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
The movie may have its flaws (Kat Dennings is probably as helpful as Jar Jar Binks in Star Wars, though she IS a lot cuter and funny), but it sure is loads of fun to watch.

Let's get this out in the open: I was a huge DC fan... I always hoped for DC and Warner to shake their heads and realize what they had and make the most of it. But since it's not happening, Marvel took the offensive... and I've been sold ever since. I have yet to read a single Marvel comic to this day, so the characters are quite new to me, even though I saw their designs from time to time.

Thor is quite a Shakespearian movie, dealing with brotherly issues, parental guidance, which director Kenneth Brannagh handles quite well himself in his filmography, so this project was right up his alley. Actors give great performances, starting with the actor who seems to have the most fun in the whole picture: Tom Hiddleston, the new fan girls' dream. Even I have to admit he's really good at playing bad guys. Next up is Anthony Hopkins, playing a heavy, sad and war-worn Odin, and Chris Hemsworth, whose Thor feels quite real: bulky, strong, not to trifle with, yet he manages emotional scenes quite well. It is a movie I always enjoy watching time and again.

As far as special features go, this one offers a few interesting bits of behind the scenes production, interviews, deleted scenes, trailers, all for the benefit of understanding in under 90 minutes what an undertaking this production must have been to everyone involved.

If you're a Marvel fan, casual viewer, or even a newcomer to the universe of the big M, Thor may be your right pick for an entertaining evening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2012
This is what Blu Ray was meant for. Put this in your HD Plasma tv and you wont be dissappointed. It will actually have you feel you spent your 30.00 bucks well. The sound codecs are amazing and if you have multiple speakers system going you will feel the affects. But the extra digital copy is great and all the deleted scenes extras make this a very very worthy Blu Ray Movie to add to your collection.
In a time were alot of average ho-hum Blu Ray movies are being realeased this one is worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2013
Thor 3D (Bilingual) [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy]I love this movie and I was so excited when I found a 3D version. I was very disappointed. There is hardly any difference between 2D and 3D, so don't waste your money on getting the 3D version. I did and I wish I hadn't. Still a fantastic movie!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2012
Received my copy of Thor the other day from Amazon. Blu-Ray+DVD+Digital Copy. I opened it up and there was no code on the paper for the digital copy. Still a great movie. Somehow, I just ended up getting a dud for a DC code. Not sure who to contact for this (if I even can).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2012
AS this was a gift for my brother for Christmas, and something that he'd put on his Christmas list, I knew it would be a hit. The timing was perfect, it got here in well enough time to get it wrapped and under the tree. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
I know this has good graphics, have not gotten it yet, was about $5.00 more than best buy, but having it delivered to me without going to get it, will play it on my 7.4 theater!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
I enjoyed this movie. Saw it first in the theatre when I was living in a Rehab Hospital. Anthony Hopkins as Odin is a freaking coup in casting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse