countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty Home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
36
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 23, 2017
Great series with none of the expected fatigue in writing, or interpretation; After 2+ years, one would anticipate ideas to run out; Not in this case, as the writing and the acting have remained of superior quality. Quite the contrary, the characters have grown into more compelling, complex personae, thus becoming almost like family members to the viewers. An excellent TV series which maintains its dedication to family entertainment and the promotion of family values.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
I laughed, I cried, sometimes simultaneously! It totally lived up to its reputation as one of the most cleverly written sitcoms on tv. I especially love the little interview style asides by the characters. It is relatable and hilarious. Highly recommend this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2013
You know what to expect - a fun show that highlights the joy of family. It's entertaining and it's "real".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2012
Just gets funnier each season! Clive Bixby, Old angry neighbour Walt, Dylan, Stella, in search of new baby, I don't want to give it all away! Worth the buy. Have friends lined up to borrow the set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Modern Family has bee cleaning up at the Emmy's, and for good reason. This is a hilarious show about three modern families. One is a rich sugar daddy (Jay Pritchett) who married a much younger Columbian bride (Gloria). Jay is step-father to her young son, but is also the father of two older children who have their own families. Mitchell is his son, and he lives with his partner Cameron and their adopted Vietnamese daughter Lily. Jay's daughter Claire is married to Phil Dunphy and they are the parents of three kids: Haley, Alex, and Luke. So these three modern families really are part of one larger modern family. And they all get into the most outrageous situations in the most normal family circumstances.

The comedy in Season 3 doesn't let up from previous seasons. The parents play a major role in the show, but the kids are also showing their improved acting chops as they get more funny scenes and lines in this season. The humor is still a great mix of some slapstick with plenty of more thoughtful gags. The comedy, for the most part, is pretty family-friendly meaning that you can watch it with middle-aged kids without having to worry about swearing or crass sexual innuendo. There are virtually no clunkers in this series, so you'll laugh out loud for pretty much every episode. The Christmas episode was my favorite, which is nice given that it gets special treatment in the DVD extras. The blu-ray DVD is very sharp and crisp, and comes with a number of extras including:

Deleted and alternate scenes
Destination: Wyoming
A Day on the Set with Ty
Adventures of the Modern Family Kids
A Modern Family Christmas
Driving Lessons
Ed O’Neill Gets a Star
Modern Family Goes to Disneyland Resort (way to cross-promote, ABC)
Gag Reel

So if you're looking for a great family-style comedy, stop looking, you've found it. While you are probably best served by starting with the first season and moving on, there aren't any overly complex plots you need to know to enjoy the show, so you can just jump in with Season 3 and enjoy it for what it is. Which is a whole lot of laughs! Which is something that everyone, whether they live in a modern family or not, could certainly use!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2014
The series is getting better and better. I thought Ed O'Neill had reached his pinnacle in 'Married With Children', but I surely underestimated his talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2013
This is by far one of the best tv shows!!!! I have cds of all three seasons and will continue purchasing more seasons as they pass.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
This is currently my favourite show! Brilliant writing. Every episode is hilarious! If you haven't seen this show yet, you should!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
Really enjoyed it. One of my families favorite shows. Very funny. Will continue to watch it and hope it is on for a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this show and am definitely glad to add it to my collection. I am looking forward to more in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse