countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 25, 2016
I ordered all three volumes and this is the best of the Platinum series. All great cartoons without any fillers and it has all the best extra characters; Marvin the Martian, Taz, and Witch Hazel. What would have made this and the other volumes much more enjoyable to watch was if each character was better distributed throughout the disc to offer more variety while viewing. The shorts of each character are run in consecutive batches, which is not a bad thing, per se, but it does become a bit of a yawn to watch a single character in virtually identical set ups and gags one cartoon after another. Warner Bros. could have taken serious lessons from Hanna Barbera on how to configure the playlist for their dvd collections, but other than that minor "shortcoming," it is two big grins up.

UPDATE MAY/17: I watched this volume again and changed my mind about how there are no fillers. There are a few shorts that I really do not like, such as "Old Glory" and other tuneful or classical type shorts. It is still the best of the three volumes, but I downgraded it to four stars upon watching it again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2017
Great content -- classic cartoons that are impossible to find streaming. Menus are awful -- exceedingly cumbersome. No image previews for each cartoon make it almost impossible to find what you're looking for. Packaging is excellent. Lots of extras.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2017
It's a blast from the past, the image quality is a good as you can expect it to be. it does have a retro look and that's how i prefer it.
Still fun after all these years !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2017
Nice to see the original uncensored cartoons again. Hours of fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2017
Good collection. excellent quality
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2016
The old cartoons are great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
Great video quality, back to the classics!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I grew up watching these cartoons on TV, so many years ago when laserdiscs were popular I was delighted to buy a quite expensive set of laserdiscs with all the Looney Tunes cartoons (including the "banned" ones about the Japanese). Times move on, BluRay comes along, and I get the opportunity to buy another set of these cartoons in high-resolution for a fraction of the price of the laserdisc set!

The quality is excellent throughout. Despite their age, even the early Bugs Bunny cartoons look good through BluRay. The color saturation is solid, the sound is good, and the cartoons still get a giggle. I love starting at the earliest shorts in the set and seeing the evolution of the characters through time, including the first introductions of some of the beloved characters like Sam and Elmer. Sitting through these cartoons, a few at a time, brought back memories, quite a few chuckles, and an appreciation for what the creators did for the genre of cartoons (Saturday morning binges!) and humour. Looking at some of these through much-aged eyes now, I can pick up on different levels of humour built into the series, as well as the rich music score.

I've had a blast sitting through these discs, and while I don't have any kids to watch them with, my wife was as enthralled as I was. Yes, we've probably seen them all before, but having them together in high quality is a delight.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2016
👍🏼
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VIDEO:

Looney Tunes Platinum Collection arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.33.:1 encode. This is a collection of 50 of the most famous shorts, spread over 2 discs. Disc one is comprised of familiar characters, chiefly Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck. Disc two is home to some of the more obscure, yet memorable characters that we've seen over the years. Taz, Marvin the Martian, Witch Hazel, Ralph Phillips and Marc Anthony all get their chances to shine. All the shorts varied from 50 to 70 years old. Because of the age of the original print, nicks, scratches, scuffs, dirt, dust and marks occasionally appear. However, each imperfection is inherent to the original source and animation cels, and has little or nothing to do with the tender, loving, restorative care Warner has afforded the various shorts. The palette is alive and kicking, with bright, vibrant colours, vivid primaries and inky blacks drizzled from the animators' pens. Every last detail and flick of the wrist is present and accounted for as well, and it holds up well under high definition scrutiny. (4/5)

AUDIO:

Looney Tunes Platinum Collection has no lossless DTS Mono track. Instead, we were given Dolby Digital Mono track. It isn't terrible, but audiophiles and 'Looney Tunes' fans alike are going to be disappointed that they don't have a lossless track to go along with their favorite cartoons. The mix handles the frantic action on screen with relative success. Dialogue is clear, although it's sometimes hampered by cracks and hisses. It's easy to tell the age of these soundtracks from the tinny sound that they give off from time to time. (3/5)

CONTENT:

The set that I purchased (while it was on sale) is the Limited Edition (21668 of 36000). There are three blu ray BD-50 discs, with an excellent 52-page Blu ray Book with rare images and Cartoon Guide by Historian Jerry Beck, plus the following goodies: a framed litho cel with certificate of authenticity, a souvenir tin sign, plus a 2.5 oz character collectible glass (mine was Bugs Bunny). Wonderful! (content: 5/5)

Disc 1: (1) Hare Tonic (2) Baseball Bugs (3) Buccaneer Bunny (4) The Old Grey Hare (5) Rabbit Hood (6) 8 Ball Bunny (7) Rabbit Of Seville (8) What’s Opera, Doc? (9) The Great Piggy Bank Robbery (10) A Pest In The House (11) The Scarlet Pumpernickel (12) Duck Amuck (13) Robin Hood Daffy (14) Baby Bottleneck (15) Kitty Kornered (16) Scaredy Cat (17) Porky Chops (18) Old Glory (19) A Tale Of Two Kitties (20) Tweetie Pie (21) Fast And Furry-ous (22) Beep, Beep (23) Lovelorn Leghorn (24) For Scent-imental Reasons (25) Speedy Gonzales (plus six Extra Features)

Disc 2: Six One Shot Classics: (1) One Froggy Evening (2) The Three Little Bops (3) I Love To Singa (4) Katnip Kollege (5) The Dover Boys at Pimento University (6) Chow Hound; The Complete Marvin The Martin: (7) Haredevil Hare (8) The Hasty Hare (9) Duck Dodgers In The 241/2th Century (10) Hare-Way To The Stars (11) Mad As A Mars Hare; The Complete Tasmanian Devil: (12) Devil May Hare (13) Bedevilled Rabbit (14) Ducking The Devil (15) Bill Of Hare (16) Dr. Devil And Mr. Hare; The Complete Witch Hazel: (17) Bewitched Bunny (18) Broom-Stick Bunny (19) A Witch’s Tangled Hare (20) A-Haunting We Will Go; The Complete Marc Anthony: (21) Feed The Kitty (22) Kiss Me Kat (23) Feline Frame-Up; The Complete Ralph Phillips: (24) From A To Z-Z-Z-Z (25) Boyhood Daze; (plus five Extra Features)

Disc 3: Over 5 hours of Content Saluting Animator Chuck Jones, including a Greeting from the Master, insightful Documentaries and Additional Rare and Unique Shorts from Jones and others.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I still remember vividly that when I was a young kid, I always had the anticipation of any Looney Tunes cartoons before the Main Feature, and thoroughly enjoyed those shorts. As far as this set is concerned, yes, it is a little disappointing that Warner Bros. stuck us with another lossy audio, but the rest of the collection is superb, including the exhausting array of special features, documentaries, and bonus cartoons. Looney Tunes should be enjoyed by many generations to come. I also appreciate and treasure those extra goodies that came with this Ultimate Collector’s Edition. At 71% off, the price is certainly right. If you don't want those extra goodies, you can also get the regular edition for $4 less. Looney Tunes Platinum Collection Volume 1 (regular or Collector’s edition) is highly recommended for fans and casual viewers alike.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse