countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
87
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.45+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 28, 2012
This movie is carried by the characters of Magneto, Charles Xavier and Mystique! They are very well played by the actors, especially Michael Fassbender that gives a very emotional and nuanced performance!

It could have been just another excuse to jam several x-men characters in a movie to make money, but instead, we started with characters at their beginning and slowly added layers to their motivations and past! What this does is to efficiently make us care for those characters. There are several dimensions to them. Magneto is not all bad. Xavier is not perfect. Mystique simply wanted to be accepted for being her true self. Because these are things that we all share in our daily lives, we are therefore able to relate to them!

Kudos to the writers and directors of this movie! They made something deeper, instead of the usual run-of-the-mill attempt at using and merging big name just to make a quick dollar!

Sure, there are lesser characters that are not as well played, but they are so secondary that it doesn't really bring anything down.

Well worth getting this movie!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2011
This is perhaps the most succesful prequel movie I've ever seen. Michael Fassbender really steals the show as Eric/Magneto. Really he and James McAvoy fill in really well for Patrick Stewart and Ian Mckellan. The two play well off each other. Michael Fassbender actually convinced me that should Daniel Craig decide to stop being James Bond, he would be an excellent replacement. The way his scenes tracking down Sebastian Shaw worked it was almost like watching an old Connery Bond movie.

I also like Kevin Bacon as villain Sebastian Shaw, who with his mutant goons, does play it like a 60's Bond villain. Unfortunately January Jones plays Emma Frost about as well as a cardboard box with a playboy pin-up stuck to it. Her delivery is emotionless and it's a shame that a memorable comic character gets such a poor representation in the movie. I think a more accomplished actress in the part would've made a huge difference, but producer logic must've decided Emma's boobs were more important than having emotions. Too bad because it is the one big mark I have against the movie. All the other supporting cast play well in their limited roles. Wolverine even shows up for one funny scene.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2012
Great acting by all. Enjoyable and entertaining. Good plot and tie in nicely with the the later sequal of the series, we have seen earlier. Gut wrentching special effects. Very well done! I wish there were more. .. Look forward to the next.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4.5 out of 5

After writing a thesis on mutation, university student Charles Xavier is approached by the CIA for his expertise on the subject as they’ve been tracking the villain Sebastian Shaw, who keeps mutant company. Once convincing the CIA mutants exist, Charles begins to form a team of mutants to go up against Shaw before he can execute his plans to start a third World War.

Loaded with thrills, excitement, stunning SFX, fun cameos and a strong story, X-Men: First Class is an amazing prequel to the X-Men films that won’t leave you disappointed.

X-Men: First Class is one of my favorites. It was also a good chance to kind of give the X-franchise a boost after X-Men: The Last Stand. What was cool about First Class is it takes place in the same universe on the same timeline and is indeed a true prequel to the X-franchise we all know and love. Yes, there are some continuity flaws, but overall the whole thing flows. Besides, any other bumps that need ironing out can always be fixed with the upcoming X-Men: Days of Future Past as, well, time travel fixes everything.

The two main characters in this are Wolverine and . . . wait, kidding, it’s Professor X (James McAvoy) and Magneto (Michael Fassbender), and this story goes way back to when they first met and were even on the same team fighting for the same ideals. You got to see how that friendship was forged because their friends-yet-foes relationship was so prominent in the other movies that to make it the spotlight of this one was a smart move.

This is truly an origin tale as you got to see Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence) in her humble beginnings, Professor X all the way back to when he was twelve; they recreated the Nazi camp beginning from X-Men for Magneto’s origin and then expanded on that—which kicked off the main plot of the movie in which Sebastian Shaw (Kevin Bacon) wants to use the mutants under his command to kick off World War III—and also how Hank McCoy (Nicholas Hault) becomes all blue and furry as Beast.

Like the other X-flicks, this movie is amazing at being an ensemble film where each character is given care, the right amount of time in the spotlight, each having unique relationships with the others, and who-does-what-and-why is clearly explained. As a storyteller myself, I find this kind of writing fascinating because it’s easy to fall into the trap of just focusing on one or two people and that’s it, the rest of the supporting cast being way too supporting and not enough of their own people. I think the secret was the X-Men—whether good guy or bad—were approached from the angle of family, the idea that as mutants their mutation was their common bond and it was all for one and one for all regardless of personalities or even if people got along or not. There’s even a bond between the heroes and villains of this flick because of their mutation.

The SFX were out of sight. The flying sequences were thrilling, the teleportations were amazing, the nods to the other movies—complete with cameos so watch closely—totally added to the world-building of the X-universe. That and the attention to the source material—using the yellow costumes from the classic comics, for example—and the overall story make this an awesome X-Men movie.

Man, just writing this review makes me want to go watch it again.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
Great movie liked the actors and the story line. Liked the whole series and this fits right in. Can't wait until the next 1 comes out
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2011
I had to see this movie in the theater when I saw the great cast. James McAvoy was x-cellent (of course), but it was SUCH a nice surprise to see Michael Fassbender in a big-budget, Hollywood movie! Of course, he's great in the events of this one and he has the right gravitas for a young Magneto. Great chemistry between him and James McAvoy makes the story believably bittersweet and enlightens your understanding of the previous X-Men movies which happen after this movie. On a side note, if you would like to see Michael Fassbender's AWESOME acting gift, check out "Hunger", an indie film about the IRA hunger strike in Margaret Thatcher's England - he's incredible in it!!!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2013
Absolutely love this movie. I really enjoyed how it shows how Magneto and Professor Xavier become friends/partners. I've watched this movie like 4 times and I still can't get enough!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The movie gives you some quick backgrounds on 4 of the characters, Charles Xavier (James McAvoy), Erik Lehnsherr / Magneto (Michael Fassbender), Sebastian Shaw (Kevin Bacon) and Raven / Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence). The rest you have to guess at. And if you are like me, and have never read the comics, you are clueless and sit back and enjoy all the women in lingerie. It boils down to a good vs. evil scenario, which I can understand.

The good guys create a machine that will locate other mutants. Charles is able to cleverly locate all the mutants during a single music montage. Meanwhile Kevin Bacon wants to start an all out nuclear war so the radiation will kill all the humans and only leave the mutants. This is remake of the history of the Cuban missile crisis.

As always, great special effects. Background knowledge of the characters and other movies would be a plus, such as cameo by Hugh Jackman or Rebecca Romijn, but not necessary to enjoy the film.

The nuclear reactor controls on the submarine were totally bogus for any era. Favorite line: "I have been at the mercy of men just following orders. Never again."

F-bomb (thanks Hugh for the F.O.) sexual situations and "Avatar" nudity. Excellent prequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 27, 2013
After a dismal "X-Men 3" and a questionable "X-Men Origins", it was time for us to get a fresh new start, if not a better take on the subject. Having such powerful actors as Michael Fassbender (Shame, Hunger, 12 years a slave) and James McAvoy (Atonement) and complete with a very adequate ensemble cast, this movie explores the beginnings of the X-Men, how Xavier and Lensher met, how the X-Men started the school, and everything in between.

Audio and video are superb, more than satisfying and both help in feeling like we're inside the movie. And the score... what a score. The main theme for Magneto is probably THE best in the X-Men music. (I hope they keep it for Days of Future Past)

As far as special features go, there's plenty to be found in terms of documentaries, featurettes, interviews, deleted scenes and commentaries. Over 2-3 hours total, all of which is entertaining, informative and quick paced.

All in all, a superb resurrection for the X family, and we can only hope the future keeps getting brighter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2012
Finally, a good X-Men movie! Done as a drama about actual events taking place over history, the story wins you over because of its very likeable characters. The story was well-written and the acting is generally good enough to pull us in and make us care about (or even love) these X-Men. Their powers are great but they also have human frailties. I'm sure that many people can identify with them and care deeply for them through their struggles. I also love how the film depicts the ugly side of humanity: fear and even hatred for that which differs from them, or their perception of reality.

This film takes place before the events of the previous films, mostly in the 1960's as Charles Xavier discovers his abilities and those of others, leading to the conception of a school of mutants (and thus the X-Men.) In this time he and Erik Lehnsherr (Magneto) are good friends and haven't yet parted ways. Mutants are in hiding for they are feared as supernatural creatures who may be a threat to humans. Xavier is an optimist who believes that mutants and humankind can learn to live together, while other mutants feel differently and desire to fight back against humankind with violence.

Charles Xavier, Magneto and Mystique are all very well performed. You accept Magneto as a villain you'd `love to hate' (but Shaw and the Hellfire Club are the main villains in this one.) Mystique is so well portrayed as Xavier's dear shape-shifting friend that you'd hate to see her go bad. Xavier works very well as a brilliant psychic and thinker whom you can't help but respect and wish you knew in real life. With all the CGI crap in films these days I find myself no more turned on than off by FX, but I can say that the acting is generally good enough that the FX feels believable. On the whole I think they did a fantastic job with this one.

The major shortcoming of this film is in the female actresses: some of them aren't as good as they should be (Emma Frost's portrayal being by far the worst.) Instead of quality actresses they went for model-looking ones. And by "model" I mean skin-and-bones. NEWS FLASH: men like meat on the bone! I'm saying this as man, speaking for all men I've known. At any rate, there is no excuse for not finding female actors as good as the male ones.

Another problem is that the scenes involving the Hellfire club feel a little hokey: they're presented as one-dimensional villains and they even look awkward together as a group. If it wasn't for these issues I would have given it five stars. I really love this film and will be watching it many more times!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse