countdown boutiques-francophones SubscribeAndSave Pets Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
94
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$14.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 6, 2013
This movie was recommended to me and I liked it for the story line even though some of the dialogue was " over done ". I would certainly recommend it to everyone, especially those who think they need a " nanny, housekeeper etc. " And especially to some of my caucasian friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 23, 2013
It's easy to understand why this movie won awards. This is one to be watched over and over again. A difficult subject, racial discrimination, is met head-on, in a fascinating story with superb acting. This really is a must-see. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2012
This product was like new, and was shipped amazingly quickly. The Help is a very touching and well-acted story about the deplorable conditions under which colored maids worked in the deep South under the infamous 'Jim Crow' laws. These women were over-worked and under-paid - and very under-appreciated. Nonetheless, it was a touching story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2012
My husband and I listened to the CDs of the book The Help and found it very good. I bought the DVD for him for Christmas. We enjoyed the actors and seeing the story come to life but it wasn't as poignent as the book. There were too many changes that made the story too fluffy.

I was happy with the service from the seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
This book was so amazing. It gives you a really good idea on what life was like in that time. How hard certain people had it. Very emotional, entertaining at times, and just overall such a good book! A definite must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2012
Anybody out there looking for a good movie you have come to the right place for a review of this movie. Definitely recommend you buy the movie it is really a good movie with lots of popcorn and maybe a few tissues. You will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2014
Excellent movie, excellent service & excellent condition upon arrival!
One of my favourite movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2012
Every now and then there comes along a movie where I truly believe every single person should watch it. The Help, is one of those movies.

This movie made me laugh and cry several times through it.

Amazing acting. Great story. Draws you into a world I wish was makebeleave.

So I then had to read the book. The book is 100 times better then this sensational movie!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
another good movie, deep and must concentrate on the storyline,,,, just to see how the black people were treated,,, I remember those horrible days of racists in the states, we are all of the same,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
A budding young journalist returns to her small, heavily segregated Mississippi hometown in the ‘60s and is assigned to a job writing a cleaning advice column in a local newspaper. Strong and independent, she soon begins to grow so outraged by the way the town’s residents treat the African-American women that work for them (and in many cases raised them), that she is inspired to write a book to give them the credit, respect and wages they so rightly deserve. She slowly earns the confidence of two strong-willed maids (and best friends) that are courageous enough to share their stories in the hope that change will be inspired.

While there are many great and memorable scenes in The Help, there are also a lot of missed opportunities. For example, there are several one-note characters that are too cartoonish and over-the-top. Had these characters been drawn more humanly flawed and more two-dimensional, the dramatic impact could have been more heartfelt and real. What is truly heartfelt (and the real draw of The Help) are the strong performances by Viola Davis as the stoic Aibileen, Octavia Spencer as sassy and lovable Minny, and Jessica Chastain as loopy Celia. All three actresses deserve every bit of praise they have earned for their outstanding portrayals of three very different women. I look forward to seeing what’s next for all three actresses.

The film offers truly amazing picture and audio quality, with detail and color especially pleasing. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said of the special features package, which only offers up two short featurettes (totaling about 35 min), a handful of deleted scenes and a music video. It’s not that the two featurettes included here aren’t interesting, I just wanted more, and would have at least liked to see a cast audio commentary included as well.

While The Help doesn’t get it right all of the time, it does offer up an entertaining story of strength and courage, and some truly outstanding performances. The film’s release offers great video & audio, and while it features a skimpy assortment of bonus material, still comes recommended. Just don’t forget the Kleenex!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here