countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home Kindle sports



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 184 reviews(5 star). See all 212 reviews
on August 5, 2017
Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
Excellente série, je la suggère à tous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2012
My husband and I were glued to Season One and Season Two on Masterpiece Theatre so we naturally wanted the series for our collection at home. It is just fantastic! The acting is superb; the costumes wonderful and the setting is magnificant. The various plot threads are well done (sometimes moving along a bit quickly while others - Bates and Anna - going more slowly). We both thoroughly enjoyed every minute and now must wait patiently but eagerly for Season Three. I hope this Series never ends and would highly recommend the DVDs for anyone who wants to enjoy a trip down memory lane during the last days of British rule and splendour. It is pure fun, escapism, humour, tragedy and an exceptionally good historical re-creation and of course wonderfully entertaining.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This has to be one of the best exports from the British Isles in years. Highly enjoyable.

Can't wait for Season 3 with Shirley MacLaine joining the cast.

Maggie Smith & Shirley MacLaine on screen together. That should be quite something to behold.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The greatly anticipated second series of Downton Abbey picks up two years on from the first series in 1916, in the middle of World War 1. Downton Abbey has been converted into a convalescent home for injured servicemen and the action covers the period from the Battle of the Somme up to the end of the war. As in the first series, topical events of the period, political, economic and military are covered.

The wartime scenario and the convalescent home setting provide an excellent background for some interesting story lines. The combination of excellent plot lines, great acting and the superb setting display all that is best in TV period drama. This time round we have eight more episodes to add to the seven in the first series. As befits wartime, the costumes are not as flamboyant as in the first series but they are thoroughly researched and appropriate to the period.

There continue to be many superb individual performances but mention must be made of Maggie Smith. What a stroke of genius to cast her as Violet. She dominates every scene she appears in and often has some very funny lines.

This DVD includes the Downton Abbey 2 hour Christmas Special which is probably the single best episode of Downton Abbey to date. High drama here with a cliffhanging murder trial as well as the usual romance, drama, betrayal etc one would expect!

The UK has a long tradition of producing fine period dramas and this is the most successful since the early 1980s when NEW Brideshead Revisited - Brideshead Revisited (director (Blu-ray) took the world by storm. Peak viewing figures in the UK are 11m which is an astounding number for that market. It is pleasing to learn that a third series is already planned and we now know that this will cover an 18 month period from 1920 to 1921. This one is likely to run and run and I would not be surprised to see Downton Abbey continuing up to the 1930s eventually.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2017
Very, very nice Great product. Works well so far.With the expectation of the same, and even good-looking than online.works like a charm,very fast! Good company communications & follow-up. it's cheap. Totally worth it. high cost is worth buying Very cool. I love these a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
Good buy. Brilliant value for money. I am so pleased with this product I bought this for my family, it's really good, they really like it. They have the name of the label, and so on, I'm sure I'll order it again. quick purchase and delivery. This item has been fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2012
This DVD of Downton Abbey Second Season is the Complete Version. It includes the all-important Christmas Episode. Don't hesitate, buy it NOW! Stop wasting your time watching episodes on TV and suffering through all of the intervening commercials. You should know by now that the commercials put together take MORE time than the episode itself.

This DVD is absolutely a great buy! There's is one down side: The 3rd Season episodes won't be available until later this year. What do you when you've finished watching all of the 2nd Season episodes?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2012
Watched the whole first season in a weekend and couldn't wait to get my hands on the second season.
Watched it in 3 days over 3 evenings. It's the only way to watch this series as you can't wait until the next episode.
I loved how they interwove the story of Downton with the war and the varying impacts on everyone. All 3 daughters reacted in different ways as well as the Mother and Father. It was equally balanced with "downstairs" and the goings on with all your favourites. I can not wait until Season 3!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
So far so good. Works well seriously try it it's cheap. Totally worth it. does what it says works well and will probably continue to do so These are just perfect Great quality and delivered on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse