countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
448
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$79.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 12, 2015
I managed to pick this up on sale from Amazon.ca during Christmas for $42.99. If you're a fan of the Harry Potter series, you won't be disappointed. Contrary to the other reviews, this set does have special features (deleted scenes, commentary, etc.) for each film, but the blu rays are defaulted to play the movies automatically.

If you're a fan of the films, you'll enjoy this set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 18, 2011
If all you want are the films in blu-ray format, then this is the collection for you.
If you want a stunning box, creative presentation, and extra features for the films, you will be sorely disappointed.

Before running away, ask yourself this: how often do you watch all the extended extra features of movies you buy?
If the answer is "always" or "most of the time" then run run run.
If the answer is "never" then click purchase.
0Comment| 157 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2015
Movies are great. The case that holds them though is the cheapest I've every seen. It literally fell apart when I opened it the first time and I noticed a piece that holds the disks in place was broken. The movies were ok though (not scratched).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2015
Great collection and the box set is very pretty! I would recommend for any Harry Potter fan. Not all of the blu-ray discs had the same menu however, and so you couldn't pick a specific scene to watch, you actually had to manually advanced the movie with the remote control to get to the scene you wanted to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2011
If you are a die-hard Harry Potter fan, do not buy this collection. All you get with this set is the first disc (disc 1) from each of the original blu ray releases of the films, literally. This is fine for the first five films/books (Stone, Chamber, Prisoner, Goblet, Phoenix) because they were only one disc to begin with, but HBP and DH 1/2 are only the first of the two discs you get in the individual releases. The publishers didn't even take the time to re-skin the discs to remove the "Disc 1" and "Movie" titles from their original placement in two-disc sets. I am not a massive HP fan but I love the films, so this isn't a huge bother to me as someone who just wants all of the films in blu ray, but this is a pretty disappointingly presented collection. To include the second disc for the last three films would not have pushed the total cost much over a reasonable limit and I was expecting to get either A) a COMPLETE collection including bonus discs or B) a newly published set of discs with uniquely arranged extra features befitting a slimmed down package. As it is, this collection is adequate but not satisfying. The case is nice. I like having all eight films in one small, plastic blu ray case with plastic clip inserts for pairs of discs. It's like a four-page book, double-sided, with all the films laid out in order. Too bad the finishing touches are a little cheap and disappointing. I almost recommend this set.
0Comment| 169 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
These discs do not work. By the time we realized that all 8 discs did not work properly, the return window had closed. Save yourself the hassle and your money. I suspect they are cheap pirated copies. We had issues with all of the discs pausing or getting stuck in our one DVD player, which was a nuisance but at least they would run with us ejecting them usually once and restarting. We discovered too late that our other DVD players will not even read any of the discs. Don't buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
As others have pointed out, this set contains only the films. The last 3 movies are only the "Disc 1" versions and they did not even remove the title. So the fact that they call this "complete" is misleading. However, for the money it's still worth it to get all 8 movies on Blu Ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2015
Bare bones collection that simply consists of all 8 movies in a relatively slim package. All widescreen. Only the first DVD has any art on the cover. The rest simply have black text descriptions. Quality is typical DVD quality - no better no worse. Very minimal extras included (trailers, sub titles, language).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2015
It's hours of Harry Potter loving! Great quality and great transitions which have been noted throughout all the years of the franchise. I really love seeing Daniel R., Ruppert G. and Emma W. grow up from that age of 11 to now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2015
Great product but Movie 3 was the Polar Express.
The disc says prisoner of azkaban but the movie is not included. Must be a manufacturers mistake.
Will update once the situation is sorted out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse