countdown boutiques-francophones Eco Friendly Cleaning and Care Furniture Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 13, 2017
Nothing new to say. It's a classic that can be watched many times through many generations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
Great family movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2017
Awesome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
I love this movie and got excited when I found it on amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
Fast shipping and good quality !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2015
We were disappointed to received this item in the mail and find that it was not an authentic Disney DVD. There were many obvious issues, the first being typographical errors on the cardboard sleeve and back cover. I am upset that we spent as much as we would have to purchase it from Disney as an authentic to get a forged copy.

Buyer beware when looking for Disney videos, this is not the first time and won't be the last that someone tries to pass off a fake as an original.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2002
This is one of the Disney Studios finest efforts. This film was something of a stretch for the studio, as the story was set in a more modern time period. As you know, they needn't have worried. This has proven to be one of the more enduring classics they produced, and it's so very easy to see why. The story is simple, yet effective. Lady is the family pet of a victorian-era husband and wife, who has to deal with the addition of a new baby into her home. As this unfolds, she encounters the Tramp, a mutt from the wrong side of the tracks, and they begin a courtship.Lady's owners take a small vacation, and an aunt watches over the household, bringing with her two siamese cats, and a lot of problems, for Lady. After escaping the house and the mis-understanding aunt for a while, Lady is caught by a dog-catcher and spends time behind bars in the pound. At this point we're presented one of Disney's best songs, He's A Tramp, sung by Peggy Lee. Now, I really don't want to go into detail after this, because I hate to give a movie's ending and twists away. I think one should experience the film's story oneself, and enjoy it as it unfolds. Sorry, but I'll go no further than this in the plot run-down, but really, this film has it all: wonderful songs, wonderful voice-acting, and fantastic animation work from the magicians at Disney. The film transfer to DVD is wonderful, with clear, clean sound coming from all speakers in my sound system. Get this film and enjoy a little slice of Disney heaven!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VIDEO:

This 57 year old film arrives at blu ray with AVC MPEG-4 1080p 2.56:1 encode. This was actually the first Disney feature-length animated film to go widescreen. The video is absolutely stunning. Colours pop vividly. Everything, and I mean everything - every hand-drawn line, splash of colour, subtle personal touch, painted storybook background, and patch of scruffy fur - almost looks as if it were animated yesterday, no small feat when it comes to a fifty-seven year old film. It looked absolutely like brand new. Thanks to Disney for such a tremendous restoration job, and the wait is definitely worth it. (5+/5)

AUDIO:

For a film approaching its sixth decade on Earth, this mix will never compete with the discrete bombast of a modern soundtrack, but we don't really expect it to. In terms of its age, this is a wonderful, wide presentation using DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 lossless soundtrack. Yes, for our dear purists - a much-appreciated DTS-HD Master Audio 3.0 presentation of the film's original mix, restored and rejuvenated but otherwise unaltered - is included also.

Of course, like any other Disney's animated classic, there are many beautiful and memorable songs in this movie, like the famous Peggy Lee's The Siamese Cat Song, Bella Notte and La La Lu. (4.5/5)

INTERESTING TRIVIA:

This movie has a budget of $4 million, but the total gross to date is $93 million. Simply outstanding achievement!

Did you know that the film's opening sequence, in which Darling unwraps a hat box on Christmas morning and finds Lady inside, is reportedly based upon an actual incident in Walt Disney's life. After he'd forgotten a dinner date with his wife, he offered her the puppy-in-the-hat box surprise and was immediately forgiven.

Disney originally didn't want to include the 'Bella Note' spaghetti-eating scene, now one of the most iconic moments in the whole Disney canon.

Barbara Luddy was nearly 50 when she voiced the young Lady.

FACTUAL ERROR:

The calendar showing the passage of time is inconsistent in their dates from one month to the next. First, December 31 and then January 1 are both Thursdays. Next, November 30 is depicted as a Friday, while December 1 is a Tuesday. Finally, both January 31 and February 1 are both Sundays.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Lady And The Tramp (blu ray) is a true testament to the fantastic efforts in frame-to-frame restoration by the team at Disney, restoring this 57 year old film to its majestic glory. It literally looks brand new. This is a movie for the whole family, especially when you have small animals in your house. Highly recommended. Cinderella is the next Diamond release. I can hardly wait. I hope the above review is helpful to you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2002
First of all, I would like to warn DVD buyers out there. There are many unlicensed copies of Lady & The Tramp as with many other Disney Videos. Most sellers of These Videos will use Phrases Such as, "All region," "Import," "Imported," "Will Play In All VCR's," "Does not have original case or artwork" "Does not have insert," "No Chapter index," etc. These Are not official US releases, Nore are they Official Disney Releases! They may be much cheaper, but The quality is not the same! You get What you Pay for!
With that out of the way, I would also like to say that I love the Movie. It has been one of my favorites since I was a young boy.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2012
Lots of family fun with excitement, humour, and romance that won't have the kids squirming - basically everything you'd expect from a classic Disney film. One of my favourite parts of this movie is the background animation, which comes through beautifully in this blu-ray version (check out the grain, patina and lighting on some of the wooden objects in the house).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse