countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout All-New Kindle Music Deals Store Home sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
88
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 8, 2015
We were disappointed to received this item in the mail and find that it was not an authentic Disney DVD. There were many obvious issues, the first being typographical errors on the cardboard sleeve and back cover. I am upset that we spent as much as we would have to purchase it from Disney as an authentic to get a forged copy.

Buyer beware when looking for Disney videos, this is not the first time and won't be the last that someone tries to pass off a fake as an original.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2002
First of all, I would like to warn DVD buyers out there. There are many unlicensed copies of Lady & The Tramp as with many other Disney Videos. Most sellers of These Videos will use Phrases Such as, "All region," "Import," "Imported," "Will Play In All VCR's," "Does not have original case or artwork" "Does not have insert," "No Chapter index," etc. These Are not official US releases, Nore are they Official Disney Releases! They may be much cheaper, but The quality is not the same! You get What you Pay for!
With that out of the way, I would also like to say that I love the Movie. It has been one of my favorites since I was a young boy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2002
This is one of the Disney Studios finest efforts. This film was something of a stretch for the studio, as the story was set in a more modern time period. As you know, they needn't have worried. This has proven to be one of the more enduring classics they produced, and it's so very easy to see why. The story is simple, yet effective. Lady is the family pet of a victorian-era husband and wife, who has to deal with the addition of a new baby into her home. As this unfolds, she encounters the Tramp, a mutt from the wrong side of the tracks, and they begin a courtship.Lady's owners take a small vacation, and an aunt watches over the household, bringing with her two siamese cats, and a lot of problems, for Lady. After escaping the house and the mis-understanding aunt for a while, Lady is caught by a dog-catcher and spends time behind bars in the pound. At this point we're presented one of Disney's best songs, He's A Tramp, sung by Peggy Lee. Now, I really don't want to go into detail after this, because I hate to give a movie's ending and twists away. I think one should experience the film's story oneself, and enjoy it as it unfolds. Sorry, but I'll go no further than this in the plot run-down, but really, this film has it all: wonderful songs, wonderful voice-acting, and fantastic animation work from the magicians at Disney. The film transfer to DVD is wonderful, with clear, clean sound coming from all speakers in my sound system. Get this film and enjoy a little slice of Disney heaven!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2012
Lots of family fun with excitement, humour, and romance that won't have the kids squirming - basically everything you'd expect from a classic Disney film. One of my favourite parts of this movie is the background animation, which comes through beautifully in this blu-ray version (check out the grain, patina and lighting on some of the wooden objects in the house).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 12, 2014
LADY AND THE TRAMP [1955] [Diamond Edition] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] Disney's 15th Animated Classic! One of The Greatest Love Stories Ever!

Fall in love with Walt Disney's Beloved Classic, 'Lady and the Tramp' ' now unleashed in glorious high definition for the first time ever on Blu-ray. Experience like never before the thrilling adventures of Lady [Barbara Luddy], a lovingly pampered cocker spaniel, and Tramp [Larry Roberts], a freewheeling mutt with a heart of gold. This heart-warming tale now charms a new generation of families and fans with its exquisite animation, unforgettable songs brilliantly restored with high definition sound, and all-new bonus that reveals the extraordinary making of process behind one of the greatest love stories of all time.

FILM FACT: Awards and Nominations: 1956 David di Donatello Awards: Win: Best Foreign Producer (Walt Disney). 1956 BAFTA® Awards: Nominated: Best Animated Film. 2006 Satellite Awards: Nominated: Best Youth DVD.

Voice Cast: Peggy Lee, Larry Roberts, Bill Baucom, Verna Felton, George Givot, Stan Freberg, Lee Millar, Barbara Luddy, Bill Thompson, Dal McKennon, Alan Reed, The Mellomen (Dogs singing voice), Mel Blanc (Stray Dogs voice) (uncredited)

Directors: Clyde Geronimi, Hamilton Luske and Wilfred Jackson

Producers: Erdman Penner and Walt Disney

Screenplay: Dick Huemer (uncredited), Don DaGradi, Erdman Penner, Joe Grant (uncredited), Joe Rinaldi, Louis Pollock (uncredited), Ralph Wright and Ward Greene (from the story)

Composer: Oliver Wallace (music score)

Video Resolution: 1080p [Technicolor]

Aspect Ratio: 2.55:1 [CinemaScope]

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital Disney Enhanced Home Theater Mix, Portuguese: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Arabic: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Hindi: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Spanish, Portuguese and Arabic

Running Time: 76 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: Most of the earliest animated feature films by Walt Disney's studio were adapted from old European fairy tales or books that enough time had passed to establish as classics. Others drew their inspiration from different places. 'Dumbo' sprung from a story penned for a reading toy prototype. 'Lady and the Tramp,' the 1955 film that numbers 15th in the studio's canon, was born out of an uncredited original idea by Walt's trusted story man Joe Grant and "Happy Dan, The Whistling Dog" a short story by Ward Greene that appeared in a 1943 issue of Cosmopolitan, a literary magazine in between its family and women's phases.

'Lady and the Tramp' opens at Christmas, with a husband giving his wife what appears to be a hat. Inside the box, however, is one puppy, a cocker spaniel they name Lady. This is a pampered pooch, which despite plans to the contrary, spends every night in bed with her owners, "Jim Dear" and "Darling." Lady's comfortable existence is threatened when her owners begin expecting a baby. Tramp, a street-smart stray mongrel, warns Lady that humans put their babies before their pets and though she doubts it, she soon finds herself lacking attention and resigned to a doghouse.

Lady winds up seeing what life is like for unlicensed dogs, as Tramp saves her from trouble and the two enjoy a romantic night on the town, complete with cinema's most famous serving of spaghetti and meatballs. The two are separated, however, when Lady gets picked up by the vigilant dog catcher. At the pound, she gets a disheartening explanation for Tramp's name, learning that she is just one in a long line of girlfriends. Nonetheless, Tramp resurfaces to demonstrate that he feels more than just puppy love. In the process, both he and Lady prove heroic when a giant rat threatens Jim Dear and Darling's infant.

'Lady and the Tramp' is one of Disney's least timeless animated classics. I don't mean that the film isn't as enjoyable now as ever as and more enjoyable than the vast majority of 1950s cinema. It's just that, despite being set in the 1910s, the movie has a distinctly 1950s feel to it. The setting of small-town America was the most ordinary of any of the studio's animated features to date. Today, it conjures the feel of the first generation sitcoms for which the decade is remembered. There is the fact that the animation film was created in CinemaScope, the wider aspect ratio with which film responded to television, a screen format briefly very popular, mostly in the middle of the 1950s.

In addition to that, 'Lady and the Tramp' enlists a modern celebrity to a degree its full-length predecessors had not. Pop singer Peggy Lee wrote lyrics for all but one of the film's songs and voices four characters, one of them named Peg and modelled after her. Even the title carries 1950s connotations, as the familiar show tune "The Lady is a Tramp" (written for the 1937 Rodgers and Hart musical 'Babes in Arms') would famously be covered by both Frank Sinatra and Ella Fitzgerald in the 1950s, not long after Peggy Lee had the biggest hit of her career in her cover of "Fever." I would classify the film's 1950s Americana style as an asset, distinguishing 'Lady and the Tramp' from the talking animal cartoons that would follow and giving it some edge and distance from the opulent fantasies on which narrow definitions of "Disney Animation" focus.

Musically, 'Lady and the Tramp' is not one of Disney's strongest films. It does have a couple of memorable tunes, the romantic ballad "Bella Notte" and Peg's "He's a Tramp", an obvious star showcase for Lee. Beyond those, there isn't much of note: the original Christmas tune "Peace on Earth", the somewhat spoken "What Is a Baby?' More catchy than those is "The Siamese Cat Song", an Asian-flavoured number by antagonist cats Si and Am (voiced by Peggy Lee) that's about as offensive as anything in 'Song of the South.'

The animation film makes up for its modest musicality with strong characters. Though just two leads comprise the title, there are many personalities in play here and each makes his or her mark quickly and indelibly. Trusty is an aging bloodhound losing his sense of smell. Small but spunky Jock, a Scottish terrier, who speaks with a Scottish accent.

While humans are secondary and often obscured in the dog's point of view, they too are given presence, from Lady's comforting parents to Tony and Joe, the friendly Italian restaurateur and chef who feed the titular couple, to the unpleasant Aunt Sarah, who inadvertently creates much of the relatively minor conflict. Lady and Tramp are given the most personality of all and the contrasting lives they lead allow us to invest in them as more than just cute, energetic canines.

Whether you are judging it as just a 1950s romantic comedy or simply a Disney animated feature, and the only of its kind released in between 1953 and 1959, 'Lady and the Tramp' holds up very nicely. This lean, funny adventure has broad appeal. It might even play better today to adults than to children, especially if the latter have been weaned on the irreverence and sarcasm of today's talking animal comedies like 'Beverly Hills Chihuahua' and the 'Alvin and the Chipmunks' films. 'Lady and the Tramp' is a much more sophisticated than such fare, its story surprisingly mature and its jokes fairly mild.

Blu-ray Video Quality ' Like only one other Disney animated classic, especially its successor, 'Sleeping Beauty,' 'Lady and the Tramp' appears in 2.55:1, one of the widest aspect ratios ever used. Given all the care the studio usually pours into its best-selling animated titles, the film looks excellent on Blu-ray. The handsome CinemaScope visuals are vibrant and pristine. If there's any complaint to be made, it might be that the animation film looks too good for something made nearly sixty years ago. The only imperfection I found was that a few brief, rare shots were lacking the sharpness and focus that the majority of the film maintained. That's only noticeable because almost all the time, the 1080p picture quality is stunning to such an unbelievable degree. This Blu-ray transfer boasted evident improvement over the Platinum Edition [inferior] DVD disc, which at the time we thought was perfect six years ago.

Blu-ray Audio Quality ' The default soundtrack option is the English 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio Mix. Active, engulfing, and crisp, it is a delight, though probably not terribly true to the film's original soundtrack design. The other Audio outputs include Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital Disney Enhanced Home Theater Mix, Portuguese: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Arabic: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Hindi: 5.1 Dolby Digital.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Special Feature: Introduction with Diane Disney Miller [1080p] [1:00] A quick introduction from Walt Disney's daughter, that is half personal anecdotes and half pitch to come see the Walt Disney Museum in San Francisco and briefly touches on her father's work, his love of animals, and his love of 'Lady and the Tramp;' as Diana Disney Miller recalls, one of the legendary filmmaker's personal favourites.

Audio Description Commentary: Inside Walt's Story Meetings: This feature supplies dramatic recreation audio from real transcripts of Walt's meetings during the film's making. It's the closest thing we'll ever have to a Walt Disney commentary, but it's cooler than that since it gives us fly-on-the-wall access to real creative production discussions rather than the premature reflection and upbeat observations that most commentaries supply. It is amazing how many conversations pertaining to specific bits and gags are captured on record and tastefully brought to life here by actors. This is easily the highlight among the new additions and it can also be experienced as an ordinary audio commentary without the counter/subtitle-disabling Second Screen and its corner counter.

Special Feature: Backstage with Diane Disney Miller: Remembering Dad [1080p] [7:57] In this section we find Diane Disney Miller, discussing the family's experiences in the apartment above Disneyland's firehouse, its Victorian decor full of cranberry red and mechanical things. It has nothing to do with 'Lady and the Tramp,' but it's fascinating all the same and gives us a more personal side of Walt Disney, down to how he liked his chili, than the reverence we usually get. The piece includes some stunning hi-definition vintage park footage.

Deleted Scenes [1080p] [19:11] Next, comes three all-new deleted scenes. They are presented via storyboard drawings with narrated stage directions. The long first bit has Russian pound dog Boris as a neighbour and potential love interest telling some tales about Hollywood and such. The brief second waits with Jim Dear for his baby's delivery. The third finds Lady and Tramp sneaking into a dog stage show and making a scene of the performance. These are not remotely worthy of making the animation film, but they are fun to see here and now.

Music & More: Never Recorded Song "I'm Free as the Breeze" [1080p] [1:26] While 'Lady and the Tramp' was released in 1955, development began as early as 1936. "I'm Free as the Breeze," written in 1946 by Ray Gilbert and composed by Eliot Daniel, features Tramp explaining his life philosophy. It was cut when it was decided Tramp wouldn't be a singing dog.

Classic DVD Bonus Features [480i] [157 minutes]

Special Feature: Lady's Pedigree: The Making of Lady and the Tramp [52:35] Here we have a special documentary that is broken down into seven distinct topical features. Much of which is comprised of vintage feature with Walt Disney himself and includes 'Return to Marceline;' 'A Perfect Little Lady;' 'The Story of Lady and the Tramp;' 'Ruff Animation;' 'Canine Chorus: The Music of Lady and the Tramp;' 'Teaching A Dog To Talk: The Voices of Lady and the Tramp;' 'Pretty As A Picture: Art and Design' and 'Epilogue: Return Home.'

Special Feature: Finding Lady: The Art of the Storyboard [13:02] Modern animator/director Eric Goldberg explaining the form and how it has gone from a unique Disney technique to being used in all modes of cinema. This broad survey considers storyboards use in cinema at large, from Alfred Hitchcock, with comments from his late production designer Robert Boyle to Kevin Costner, with quite a bit of attention going to 'The Love Bug.'

Special Feature: Original 1943 Storyboard Version of the Film [12:00] Has Goldberg and legendary Disney story man Burny Mattinson animatedly performing the parts (even the barking) of an early, quite different visual outline for the film.

Special Feature: The Siamese Cat Song: Finding a Voice for the Cat [1:52] Some male outtakes set to concept art and storyboards of the lines that Peggy Lee would perform.

Special Feature: PuppyPedia: Going to the Dogs [9:22] This has comedy actor Fred Willard at a dog park talking with owners about their pets. Their witty exchanges are complemented by information on seven different kinds of dogs, especially sporting, toy, etc., which feature many Disney movie clips and a bit of real canine video.

Special Feature: Music Video: Bella Notte Music Video [2:55] shows Steve Tyrell performing his 2006 standard take on the romantic song, with sets inspired by the film and some blurry VHS-quality film clips. Indeed, "Tyrell" rhymes with "swell."

Theatrical Trailers: 1955 Original Theatrical Trailer; 1972 Theatrical Reissue and 1986 Theatrical Reissue.

Special Feature: Excerpts from Disneyland TV Shows [480i] [1.33:1] [4:01] Penultimate listing Excerpts from "Disneyland" TV Shows is one of the disc's highlights. It serves up an introduction in which Eric Goldberg explains the weekly anthology program's foresight to shoot in colour and in the episodes' mixed quality here as patched together from the best available sources. They include 'The Story of Dogs' (Excerpt); Promo Trailer for 'The Story of Dogs' and 'Cavalcade of Songs' (Excerpt) which aired in the previous week's episode.

Deleted Scenes [12:52] Last but not quite least is the DVD's deleted scenes section, consisting of two scenes and two introductions by Eric Goldberg. "Turning the Tables" imagines a world where the roles of dogs and humans are reversed, while "The Arrival of Baby" gives us temp track of an earlier, extended version of "What Is a Baby?."

Special Feature: Discover Blu-ray 3D with Timon & Pumbaa [The Lion King] This is a Promo for the 3D Blu-ray, but shown in the 2D format [1080p] [English: 5.1 Dolby Digital]

Sneak Previews: Cinderella [Diamond Edition Blu-ray] and Secret of the Wings [Blu-ray]

Finally, 'Lady and the Tramp' is Walt Disney's nostalgic love letter to our furry, four legged friends and remains a charming, funny, and emotional love story. And while some of the ethnic stereotyping might not be appropriate today, it seems pretty harmless in its intent and nothing to be ashamed of, but I suppose that's up for you to decide. Personally, it was great to see this classic animation film again on Blu-ray because it looks brand new. This is a resplendent restoration, Blu-ray transfer, and multi-channel audio presentation. In terms of Bonus feature, you get most of what was on the original Platinum Edition DVD as well as all new exclusive material created with this One Blu-ray disc package. Overall, it's a great package, and a must own! Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller ' Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 1999
The movie's great. The lack of stars refers to the current Disney administration's poor presentation of their titles on DVD (no doubt because they're going to release them AGAIN down the road with extras and try to charge their customers AGAIN. What villains!
According to a review at dvdfile.com, this classic as actually filmed in two aspect ratios. Disney did not bother to include both on this DVD. Here's a sample from the dvdfile review:
"A word to the folks at Disney: by keeping prices high and features down, you're helping to alienate even your staunchest supporters, of which I used to be one. Unfortunately, not recommended."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VIDEO:

This 57 year old film arrives at blu ray with AVC MPEG-4 1080p 2.56:1 encode. This was actually the first Disney feature-length animated film to go widescreen. The video is absolutely stunning. Colours pop vividly. Everything, and I mean everything - every hand-drawn line, splash of colour, subtle personal touch, painted storybook background, and patch of scruffy fur - almost looks as if it were animated yesterday, no small feat when it comes to a fifty-seven year old film. It looked absolutely like brand new. Thanks to Disney for such a tremendous restoration job, and the wait is definitely worth it. (5+/5)

AUDIO:

For a film approaching its sixth decade on Earth, this mix will never compete with the discrete bombast of a modern soundtrack, but we don't really expect it to. In terms of its age, this is a wonderful, wide presentation using DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 lossless soundtrack. Yes, for our dear purists - a much-appreciated DTS-HD Master Audio 3.0 presentation of the film's original mix, restored and rejuvenated but otherwise unaltered - is included also.

Of course, like any other Disney's animated classic, there are many beautiful and memorable songs in this movie, like the famous Peggy Lee's The Siamese Cat Song, Bella Notte and La La Lu. (4.5/5)

INTERESTING TRIVIA:

This movie has a budget of $4 million, but the total gross to date is $93 million. Simply outstanding achievement!

Did you know that the film's opening sequence, in which Darling unwraps a hat box on Christmas morning and finds Lady inside, is reportedly based upon an actual incident in Walt Disney's life. After he'd forgotten a dinner date with his wife, he offered her the puppy-in-the-hat box surprise and was immediately forgiven.

Disney originally didn't want to include the 'Bella Note' spaghetti-eating scene, now one of the most iconic moments in the whole Disney canon.

Barbara Luddy was nearly 50 when she voiced the young Lady.

FACTUAL ERROR:

The calendar showing the passage of time is inconsistent in their dates from one month to the next. First, December 31 and then January 1 are both Thursdays. Next, November 30 is depicted as a Friday, while December 1 is a Tuesday. Finally, both January 31 and February 1 are both Sundays.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Lady And The Tramp (blu ray) is a true testament to the fantastic efforts in frame-to-frame restoration by the team at Disney, restoring this 57 year old film to its majestic glory. It literally looks brand new. This is a movie for the whole family, especially when you have small animals in your house. Highly recommended. Cinderella is the next Diamond release. I can hardly wait. I hope the above review is helpful to you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2010
This is another Disney favorite from my childhood. And this is also my favorite animated "doggy" film - which (to me) is strange, because I am a cat-lover. I really also love the "riches/rags" love story between well-bred Lady and street-wise,stray downtown Tramp...I love his impressions.

I love the beginning of the film, when Lady is a little puppy, she was so cute. And I also love it when Jock and Trusty tried to explain human babies to Lady; I love 3 out the songs from the film:
"The Siamese Cat Song,"
"Bella Notte," and...
"He's a Tramp." Overall, I love this film and it's another Disney favorite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2006
If you're looking for a movie which will touch your heart, this one should be at the top of your list. The dinner that lady has with the tramp at Tony's may bring tears of joy to your eyes. This is a movie you can watch again and again because of the wonderful characters, the great songs, and the beautiful animation. Lady and the Tramp remains one of the most supremely delightful animated films of all time. I just finnished reading Why Some Cats Are Rascals, Book 3. It's another touching story, a perfect candidate for another great Disney animation. I hope they will do that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2000
Lady and the Tramp is simply my all-time favorite Disney film! In my opinion, it is a 5 star masterpiece, and I would give it more if I could! I remember when I was just four years old, watching the characters Lady, Tramp, Jock, Trusty, and the Siamese Cats light up my eyes, as well as my TV screen, as very few films have done for me before or since. The music and songs are especially enjoyable, especially "Bella Notte" and "He's a Tramp." And the thrilling climax, which I won't spoil for the people who have yet to see it, ranks with the climaxes of "Beauty and the Beast" and "The Lion King." I remember having to wait almost a decade for Disney to re-release this classic so that I could replace my old worn-out copy. Now that I have it on both VHS and DVD, and both editions are in widescreen, I can enjoy it for years to come as I never thought I'd be able to! Your kids will love it, and so will anyone who's still young at heart. Buy it today! Don't make the same mistake I did over 10 years ago!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse