countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout home All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
91
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$20.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 6, 2014
I was so skeptical when I first watched this movie. I thought it was a romp for children, and I am 50 something, so it took some doing to try it out. This is now my all time favorite animated movie - even winning out over my previous favorites of Miyazake - and that is saying a lot, as I consider Miyazake the King of animation. This movie is so well done, the story is fabulous; humorous, touching, romantic, adventuresome, breathtaking, thrilling. The facial expressions, the narrative so perfect. I have watched this movie over and over again, especially the part where Toothless and Hiccup become friends. This must become a classic scene, and a cult movie for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
I love animation because, when the artistry is visually stunning, it is delightful for your eyes. The story is awesome. For the parents that are out there, when you watch this, I didn't think once that Hiccup was a nerd, but he truly is geneous in his creations, and in our society today, with the talk of bullying, Hiccup shows that being a nerd can lead to some incredibly wonderful adventures along with making a unique friend.
Cheers
Lois Howarth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Video: This 1080p presentation is top-notch, spectacular and eye-catching, with vibrant colours and many fine details. The flying sequence of Hiccup and Astrid on Toothless is a sight to behold. Besides fantastic video, the story line is also top-notch, making one to root for the underdog. If you are an animal lover, you will truly appreciate the delicate details of interaction between Hiccup and the dragon Toothless at the first encounter, seeing how the dragon's head slowly approaching Hiccup's hand to be stroked. The fine detail of the video is awesome, with Toothless cat-like green eyes to Astrid's blonde hair. This is no Pixar film, because the expression of human's face is still not as fluid as those in Pixar's films, like Toy Story, but Dreamworks has improved a lot. (5/5)

Audio: The DTS-HD MA 5.1 is also wonderful with powerful bass. It complemented the video. It makes one totally immersed into the movie. (5/5)

I saw this movie in the IMAX-3D theatre (I still have their "Made in Taiwan" IMAX-3D glasses, displayed in my home theatre) and was charmed by both the video and audio. This is one movie that the whole family will enjoy, again and again. Both the video and audio are top-notch, with a strong heart-warming storyline. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Highly recommended and a Must-Own.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2016
As the majority of DreamWorks animation output consisted of dreck like "Shrek," "Shark Tale," and (shudder) "Bee Movie," this film was a very pleasant shock in how meaningful and well-done it was. Especially since the books it's very loosely based on were lacking in substance and not much better than "Captain Underpants."

"How to Train You Dragon" could have easily gone wrong though. A movie that purports the human respect of dragons, an animal that doesn't exist in the real world, while at the same time presents sheep in an unflattering light, straddles the line of hypocrisy. Where this movie won me and my family over was in how it was willing to sacrifice the protagonist's leg at the very end, thus karmatically matching the wound Hiccup inflicted on Toothless at the beginning, and proving the filmmakers have got the guts to back up their fairy-tale with some reality.

Conversely, this movie's sequel was a hollow, soulless shell. HTTYD2 fully embraces hypocrisy and expands on it by having the dragon-riders use the sheep as "balls" (in Berk's version of "Quidditch"), as if the animals are devoid of feeling, emotional and physical. The movie also rips off the Empire Strikes Back in tone and setting, and tosses in all kinds of idiotically predictable "twists" into the mix just to fool the audience into thinking it was anything more than a cash-grab. Fortunately, the film underperformed at the box office, forcing DreamWorks to delay the third installment a couple of years, and shut down hundreds of animation factories, er, studios, to "revaluate" their approach.

If the first film left you craving more adventures of Hiccup and Toothless, then I recommend buying the first two seasons of the television series (available in four DVD volumes), which is very well done. Just avoid HTTYD2 at all costs, whatever you do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
Not many animated movies nowadays can achieve anything more than being simply "good". Most are fine, but largely forgettable. This is quite simply a great movie. The DVD itself is straightforward, not over-stuffed with pointless content (or bland). It's a good purchase, and a movie enjoyable for children and adults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hiccup is a Viking ahead of his time. He is able to look at his own society much as an outsider would view it (Similar to "Eric, the Viking"). The village is besieged by dragons, but such is life for a Viking.

Hiccup, as an intellectual Viking creates a weapon that is able to injure the infamous Night Fury Dragon, one that has never been seen by his people. Hiccup tracks the injured dragon on his own, however is unable to slaughter it when it lays defenseless trapped in ropes from his own weapon. Rather he cuts the dragon loose. They become friends as he brings it food. Hiccup splits his time caring from the dragon he names Toothless, and attending dragon school. He learns secrets by about dragons by caring for one.

He applies what he has learned to dragon school, much to the amazement of his fellow students and instructors, becoming a child hero and legend. There is a young blond Viking lass he wants to impress. The plot is predictable and the movie is wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2010
This movie was fantastic!! The animation is awesome and the story is really great. It has a wonderful message about animals and how we relate to them and how we treat them. Perfect for 5 and up!!Really really fast delivery and great price too!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
This movie is great for the whole family as there is action, comedy, and interesting family dynamics. My favorite part of the movie is the message that it is okay to be yourself, embrace your strengths, and follow your heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2011
How to Train Your Dragon was a ton of fun.

The animation was top notch, the voice actors were great, and the clash of Vikings vs Dragons made for a great film.

The story is more-or-less your typical underdog story, involving a young viking who would rather learn, than fight. He must overcome the seemingly impossible odds, to help his people, win the favor of his father, get the girl, and basically save the day.

If you like Fantasy, Adventure and Fun, this is definitely one to watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2010
I have to say up front that I had zero expectations for this movie and expected it to totally suck. But instead it did nothing more than impress me. With a great cast, solid plot and lots of action this is nothing more than one of the greatest movies of 2010.

Now I'll tell you my gripes right off the bat. Why do the children all have normal voices but all the adults have Scottish accents? And why does the main dragon look just like a monster from Pokemon? That is all my major issues with the movie. All the voice actors did a solid job but I could pick out all the actors very easily. Gerard Butler was really good along with Craig Ferguson.

The real meat and potato's is the relationship between Jay Baruchel's character hiccup, and his Dragon Toothless, and the relationship between Hiccup and his father the "King" of the village. These really make the movie feel real and give's a solid human feel to all the characters. The movie is kind of funny but really it's all about the action. The scene's when the Dragon is flying and fighting are nothing more than spectacular. Very well directed and so much fun.

I don't want to spoil anything in regards to the story but it was really fun. Really I have to say this is solid fun for parents and their children. How to train you dragon comes Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse