countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
55
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 4, 2016
good movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
Good but rogue nation is better feels like a turning point for the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
A more fun version of Bond. If you've already seen Rogue Nation, you'd like Ghost Protocal. There's some continuity involved with the other movies but doesn't really matter. Just a great fun action movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
Good movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
item shipped as described, no issues
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
The best MI movie yet. I can't wait to get Rogue Nation to see if it keeps up the quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
To me it has always been the theme song. I could watch just about anything to that sound track and think it was great. Fortunately we had a great film that explodes on the big screen. The gadgets were extremely high tech and I seriously doubt many of them really exist. Face scanner in a contact lens?

The opening scene of Cruise in a Serbian high security prison being broken out, was superb. It becomes a mystery that plays constantly in the back of your mind during the film. Who was the man he took with him when escaped? Where is he now? It engages you and puts your mind into the proper framework. Tom Cruise is later written off along with the IMF and must operate rouge to save the US from terrorist named Hendricks who has the Russian launch codes and plans to use them against the US. Cruise's team are the guys that just happened to be with him at the moment...with no masks! Great Stuff.

This is a good old fashion break out the tub of popcorn and enjoy the feature action-comedy-thriller. I didn't see it in IMAX, but clearly that is the way to go considering how the scenes were shot. After seeing it once, I want to see it again on the really big screen. And of course every "impossible" scene is made more complex, complicated, or twisted. Humorous and heart stopping action all in the same moment.

Good Luck.

No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2015
This was pretty good. I like the story and style of the first and second movie but this was had a really great cast and was a bit funnier than the rest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First, a technical gripe: The only English soundtrack on the Blu-ray disk is 7.1 true HD which our ten year old brilliant AV amp. could not interpret so it defaulted to ProLogic II - Grrr. Every other Blu-ray disk we've played has been decoded as DTS which is splendid so I sincerely hope that this is not a sign of things to come. This feature was so annoying that we watched the DVD version instead which gave us good old Dolby Digital 5.1 sound. UPDATE : Having encountered the same problem with another Blu-ray disk I tinkered about with the audio settings on the player (changing from `DTS re-encode' to `primary pass-through') whereupon the amp gave us DTS - Splendid! Apologies to Paramount...

Now, to the film. All of the MI films so far have been a more than a little tongue-in-cheek but they have delivered all-out action at a relentless pace within a taut plot; it doesn't usually do to think too much and the gadgets are universally silly but the films are always hugely entertaining. This film, however, despite the inclusion of J.J. Abrams in the production (but, significantly, not direction) credits is a serious let-down. There are lots of excellent action set-pieces and stunts/CGI (not that you can really tell the difference these days) but the plot is so linear and weak that it completely fails to provide the essential cohesion between the action sequences. The script is similarly lack-lustre, Tom looks tired & bored much of the time and Simon Pegg as the geeky side-kick is a total failure; he made a good `young Scotty' in the excellent Star Trek prequel but his brand of child-like pratishness is completely wrong for a major role in an action movie. These failings and the bizarre choice of a director best known for cartoons make for a sad & dismal end (hopefully) to the MI franchise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse