Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite Vinyl Day sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
Hungarian Rhapsody: Queen Live In Budapest [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$14.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 7, 2012
This film looks and sounds great. I have been a Queen fan since high school but I have never seen this film. From their Kind Of Magic tour this is roughly the same set as they played on the Wembly DVD but with a much sharper picture and shot much better. Yes the Blu ray/DVD is missing a few songs that are on the CD but in most cases they are covers. They did cut Another One Bites The Dust but we do get a great performance of that on the Montreal Blu ray anyway. The DTS-HD 5.1 mix is excellent as always. You get the feel of being there. Again the front speakers are the main audio with audience and some reverb in the rears to give you that stadium feeling. As a Canadian living in Canada I never got to see this tour since they didn't play North America (was lucky enough to see them on the Hot Space tour however) so having a Blu ray of the tour that was shot on 35mm rocks. Unfortunately according to the liner notes this is the last full show they have that was shot on film but hopefully we will see DVD's or even Blu rays of some of the shows shot on video. As I mentioned in another review it would be great to see a release of the 1977 tour. But for now this is going to get played a lot!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2016
what wonderful performance..... and even in the city from where my husband parents came from...and we have visited with our children many times... Freddie Mercury was a wonderful singer and composer and there is nobody on this earth who did not like his music his style his voice etc... this is a keepsake .... enjoyed his performance ... I am sure he is watching over all music world.... thank you.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 5, 2012
As mentioned in previous reviews, this is another video release from the same tour as the Wembley release in '86.
Unsure if it was for copyright reasons but a few tracks were left off the DVD/Blu-ray released but included on the CDs - or maybe just bad footage.
This concert was actually released as Live In Budapest [...] but only on VHS tape [except for the bootlegs floating around that were transferred to DVD] in 1991 and again in 2001. Most likely same footage - just cleaned up.
Obvious DTS-HD 5.1 was added to the Blu-ray release as well as the high definition video [in full screen].
Included is a 27 documentary of the tour. No additional footage. Would of liked to see a concert-only variation of the video.
Outside the lacking of additional video material, the only other downside is the fact that the packaging uses those plastic disc holders. [For better packaging look at the 3 disc set of Pearl Jam's Twenty.]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 5, 2013
This Blu-ray/2CD set went beyond my expectations. I really didn't expect it to look and sound as good as it does. After years of watching this concert on VHS I became used to its appearance as such. Now, on Blu-ray, it's like watching it for the first time. Crystal clear images, warm colours, surround sound, widescreen presentation and the added bonus of the entire show on 2 audio CDs. Great job, Queen Productions. Make sure to check out The Great Pretender too.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 9, 2013
The quality of the audio and video of this concert was outstanding. One could almost forget that Freddie's been gone for 20 years. The quality could convince me that he was still singing in Budapest. This is by far the best concert footage of Queen that I've ever seen. Freddie struts his stuff and reels in the audience in a way that no one else ever could. I was delighted with this purchase and would strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to remember the best of the best.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 29, 2016
We expected there to be more of their most popular songs, but they didn't show case those on this DVD concert. Otherwise it wasn't bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2017
this is their best concert video next to the Wembley in '86 show (please release Wembley on Blu-ray) - Best Blu-ray
includes classic songs as well as a couple from the Magic album and some from the Works.
Queen at their best. great price too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 4, 2018
I love it ! I love Queen and Freddie Mercury !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 1, 2018
the quality blew me away, great blu ray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 7, 2018
Nobody does it better, queen died with Freddy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse