countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
11
4.1 out of 5 stars
Platform for Display: Xbox 360|Change
Price:$13.39 - $50.97
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 7, 2013
While still very buggy, it's bright sides far outshine the issues I have with the game. It is a worthy successor to "UFO:Enemy Unknown". Not as deep or complex but just as engrossing. It is much easier to approach than the old one and will keep you on the edge of your seat. I would have given it 5 stars if not for all the bugs this game still has even after the patch. If they can fix the teleporting alien issue...this game would be worth 5 stars. It is a strategy game but should appeal to just about anyone. Also great for those who might not be the fastest trigger finger since it is a turn based strategy game, allowing to play it with a nice cup of tea (or beer or coffee) if you like.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
Good game, but they are still fighting bugs, I preordered expecting all sorts of special downloads and bonus content, This is now available to everyone at the local store. Game is fun but the challenge ends at the mid way point, There is no risk no difficulty nothing after you hit that mission. It is replayable, 4 MP maps that are in game get lame very quick. And missions do not have much variety to the maps. The Fraxis/2k dropped the ball by pushing the deadlines and offering a sub par game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2012
Having just finished the game, I leave people with these thoughts.

This game is tactical strategy at its best, well as good as you will get in AAA gaming. The in-depth tinkering with your base involves getting funding, researching tech, building new weapons/armour, defending your air space, interrogating aliens… the list goes on.

The level of depth is quite impressive.

Personally the real fun comes in when you customize your squad. Kitting them out, giving them names, leveling them up and running them through missions. You start to take a certain pride in your max level sniper clearing the field with ease.

The overall experience is quite satisfying.

There are of course a few rubs.

The game has a surprising amount of bugs. In particular when it came time to kit out my soldiers. Their avatars would be incorrect or just plain out invisible.

The combat can also get tedious sometimes. After I've killed off the 15th Muton on a forest map, the last thing I want to do is hunt down the 16th in the bloody forest map. The urban maps are by far superior.

Finally the ending was kind of… well anticlimactic. I sniped the last boss twice, and he died. That was it. This was on normal, I intend to crank up the difficulty for my next run.
These gripes are minimal though. All together, I enjoyed it.

It’s a solid four star game. If you have any interest in strategy games, give it a try.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
The game showed up two days after I placed the order, way ahead of schedule.
And the game is one of the best RTS games I've ever played.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2013
Great game. I still enjoy the simplicity and strategy. Had fun playing the original and just as much fun playing this updated one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
X-com done right. The team at firaxis really out did themselves this go around. All the game elements are well thought out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
On my second play-through already. I love tactical RPG and there just aren't enough. So much fun. Gets hard too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2013
This is a must have if you like strategy games. It's an old school game with a new feel and polish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2016
Boring. Don't understand what all the fuss was about this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
Arrived within stated time, great game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.