countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
257
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 15, 2016
This game is so much fun and I love it but I feel like it's so popular that buying it probably isn't necessary. Chances are a few of your friends already own this game. Kinda like how someone in the group already would have Cards Against Humanity. If no one in the group has this game, go ahead and buy it. Remember to get the expansion though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2014
This game scores high on both: the gameplay and product quality

Reasonable play time (circa 1.5 hours)
No micromanagement - all decisions are important
Easy to learn, hard to master
Nice design
Durable wooden tokens

Perfect for people willing to occasionally spend evening with friends at home
The only downside: at least 3 participants needed and extension is required for games with 5-6 players.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
To start, let me say I've been playing Catan since it came out. I have every single expansion available, including the two-player card decks, and have played the game with as few as two and as many as six people regularly. So, this review has hundreds (if not thousands) of plays behind it.

The game is easy to learn and set up, easy to explain to others (even younger kids) and will be a lot of fun for any family, couples, or random group participation session. When you start, there's more than enough challenge learning the best game strategy to follow, and exploring variations will keep you going for months, if not more than a year, of regular play. When you start to get bored of the basic gameplay, there's expansion after expansion to add complexity and changes in the strategy. (For the record, I find when playing with all the expansions in force, it's not as much fun as the basic Catan and Seafarers together!)

But that's getting ahead of the, ahem, game. Looking just at the base Settlers of Catan game, you'll find this is truly a classic and will be in the top ten of most board gamers for a simple reason: it's a good game. If you've never played Catan, get it. Whether you play as a family, friends, or whatever, you'll love it. And after a few hundred plays, you can expand!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2016
Ever since I heard about this game online and saw it played in a video, I couldn't wait to try it in person. I'm so glad I managed to convince my friends to try it at a board game cafe once because they all fell in love with it and it's our go-to game whenever we have gaming nights. Many of my friends have since bought the game for their homes, too.

While the rules itself are a bit hard to get down, it's no more complicated than Monopoly and is definitely more fun. You don't have that 'wasted player syndrome' that you do in Monopoly once one or two players dominate the board, as there is always a way to cause an upset, and as long as you play smart you can always be in the running.

The box contains everything you need to have an amazing time. All the pieces and decks are nicely organized, the rules are clear, assembly is quick, and the game play is smooth once everyone gets the general gist of things (playing once through is the quickest way to learn and it definitely helps to have at least one player who knows the rules; it's rare that you'll need more than a couple of games to understand everything and by then you should be able to understand how to strategize).

I love this game so much I even found the online version and play often there, too. It's even easier online since you can see exactly how many visible victory points they have, how many resource cards are in their hand, and how many development cards they have as well as what's been used.

The only problem I have for this listing is that the price is ridiculous. I bought my set for $30 at a convention and most stores will sell it for under $60. If you're looking for a great game that doesn't get boring and can be played with all ages, this is it. Just find it somewhere else for purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2014
This game was introduced to me by a close friend about 4 years ago. I've been hooked since. Was very happy to find this version with wood game pieces and the classic hexagons. I previously bought the Family Edition, which had a limited number of possible maps. While this game is meant for 3 or more players, my husband and I still play it ourselves and hone our strategy for when we play against other couples!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
I remember when I was young, playing a board game meant playing monopoly, payday, or risk... and to be frank, I hated it: the strategy can be explained in a sentence, and the winner is decided purely based on the roll of the die. These were the same games that were in every one of my friends house, and so I never wanted like playing board games.

Over the past years board game awareness has been growing, and although there were always great games, recently some great games have become mainstream. Settlers of Catan is one of those great games.

The pros
-There is no player elimination-
(No bankruptcy, no annihilation)
-There is only as much player conflict as you chose-
You can try to block off people's paths, or simply build a route that doesn't interfere
-Players are engaged during other players turns-
to begin each turn a die is rolled, and players who have settled on lands with that number receive wood, sheep, brick, wheat. This keeps player interested in every turn
-Nice balance of luck, diplomacy, and strategy-
The game isn't chess, but it isn't mousetrap: There is enough luck to make Settlers a good family game yet enough strategy that victories will still feel earned.

The cons
-Boring Theme-
the only problem with the game is convincing people that exploring a land of bricks and wheat is more fun than than conquering the world. However, once you they begin playing, they learn that the game is far from being boring.

I recommend this to anyone who has played Hasbro board games and is wondering if there is anything better out there. Although the name, pieces, and theme may seem dry, I assure you that it is more engaging than any game of monopoly you have ever played. This is a game that you will look forward to playing and I hope you give it a try sometime soon!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
This game involves interacting, developing, communicating, sharing, bargaining, negotiating, laughing, competing, observing, planning and numerous other skills. For a teen to adult group, this is a great way to hang out together for a long game of interacting and playing together. We played this in pairs at one outing where there were 8 of us. The game is designed for 3-4 people, but another way to expand the players is to invest in an addition that could also increase numbers of players. One of the younger adults played this interactive game with a group of young people at a camp for international relations. As a teacher, I can see how this game is great for a variety of interactive, communicative learning opportunities. This gives credence to mindful decision making, planning and relating. We laughed a lot and developed new respect for business and management skills. I highly recommend this game for people who like a challenge. I believe that there will be those who do not want to take the time and would prefer a shorter, less challenging game. This great game would draw in most of our friends and family. We were introduced to it by some young 30ish family members and have played from 17 to 60ish in age, and all loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
What I love about this game is that it's engaging all the time. not your typical roll the dice move the mice game. you have to pay attention every time the die is rolled to it's intellectually stimulating and requires strategy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2015
This game is famous for a reason. It is highly rated for a reason. That reason is simple: it's a great, entertaining game anyone can learn how to play. Collect sheep, ore, wood, brick, and wheat to build roads, settlements, and cities. Where you build--as well as the luck of the dice--will determine which resources you will get. Trade with other players to get prized resourcesif luck isn't on your side. The board game is different every time allowing for new gameplay and new strategy. A must-have game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
Very fun game. Your game changes with every play if you want it to. It can be a little long but you don't notice the time flying because it's a great game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

$2,385.61